Fulbright Foreign Student Program

Sponsored by: United States Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs


The Fulbright Program, sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The Fulbright Program has provided approximately 310,000 participants chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns. Laspau administers a part of the Fulbright Program which provides grants to individuals from Latin America and the Caribbean for graduate study in the United States. Grants are awarded for Master’s and PhD programs in a variety of fields of study.


Applications are accepted in a variety of fields of study with the exception of Medicine, Nursing and Dentistry.

Countries: Antigua and Barbuda | Argentina | Barbados | Bolivia | Chile | Colombia | Costa Rica | Dominica | Dominican Republic | Ecuador | El Salvador | Grenada | Guatemala | Haiti | Honduras | Jamaica | Mexico | Nicaragua | Panama | Paraguay | Peru | St. | Kitts and Nevis | St. Lucia | St. Vincent & Grenadines | Trinidad and Tobago | Uruguay | Venezuela

How to Apply:

Eligibility and Selection

Citizens of Brazil: Please visit http://eca.state.gov/fulbright/country/brazil

FB_MapExplore Programs by Country

Visit the Fulbright program interactive map on the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs website to learn about the programs offered in your country and how to apply.



Interested in learning more about the Fulbright scholarship?

Learn More About This Scholarship

Applicants from Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Peru and Uruguay should not complete this application as they are required to apply through the Fulbright Commission in their respective countries.

More information:

Argentina | Chile | Colombia | Mexico | Peru | Uruguay